by Ron Spence

They are playing for the Stanley Cup south of the 49th, and the Memorial Cup north of the imaginary line.

When the Cup has been won, a Memorial Cup all-star team will be voted in.

Some retired Canucks have been voted onto the team.

Some were honoured, and then drafted by Vancouver. Some were honoured, drafted by another team, and then acquired by Vancouver.

Who were the Memorial Cup all-stars that the Canucks drafted?

Who were the all-stars who were later acquired?

Which two members of the Canucks’ world were all-stars?

Which current Canuck played for the Memorial Cup twice.

The following six were drafted by the Canucks:

Sherbrooke’s Jere Gillis won in 1977; Peterborough’s goalie Ken Ellacott won in 1978; Prince Albert’s Dan Hodgson won in 1985; Cornwall’s Marc Crawford won in 1981; Medicine Hat’s Trevor Linden won in 1988; and Spokane’s Brad Ference won in 1998.

The following four were drafted by other teams, and later traded to Vancouver:

Peterborough’s Mark Kirton won in 1978 – the same year as Ellacott; Chicoutimi’s Felix Potvin won in 1991; Kamloops’ Corey Hirsch won in 1992; and Brandon’s Bryan McCabe won in 1995.

In the Canucks’ organization, New Westminster’s Stan Smyl also won in 1978, and Kamloops’ Nolan Baumgartner won in both 1994 and 1995.

Roberto Luongo played in the Memorial Cup playoffs for Val-d’Or Foreurs in 1998, and Acadie-Bathhurst Titans in 1999.

Luc Bourdon played for the Memorial Cup in 2006 for the Moncton Wildcats.

Neither Roberto nor Luc were voted all-stars and their teams didn’t win the Memorial Cup.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s