IF I’M MIKE GILLIS….

by Ron Spence

I’m breathing  a sigh of relief over the last minute Henrik and Daniel signings and I’m crossing the “t’s” and dotting the “i’s” on Roberto’s contract extension.

I’ve got my feelers out for another top six forward and a good, cheap backup – via free agency.

But most important, I’m looking to package Cory Schneider and Shane O’Brien for a good, young – same age as Cory – offensive Dman.

There are teams such as St. Louis and L.A., who  have too much young talent to warehouse, and need some stay-at-home help. Plus, a great backup who can play 30 games.

Cory is a waste of a prospect down in the AHL and his meter is quietly running while he’s sitting at the end of the Canucks’ bench watching Roberto play.

He’s the 2nd ranked non-NHL goalie – 15th overall – according to Hockey’s Future. Boston’s Tuukka Rask is first – in 5th place overall – and I would argue that Washington’s Michal Neuvirth – who played for Hershey during the playoffs – is as good as Schneider. 

Now, if I’m Mike Gillis this isn’t something I really want to do, but I have limited “top” prospects in the minors. The cupboard was bare when I took over 14 months ago. 

It’s giving up a top asset to get a top asset.

And, I can’t wait. 

I need another good young Dmen besides Alex Edler and Kevin Bieksa.

My budget won’t allow me to buy a top four Dman and a top six forward via free agency.

One response to “IF I’M MIKE GILLIS….

  1. I think Corey is a moveable piece, Ron, but I also think Gillis will have to be pretty damned sure he has Roberto signed to a five year extension before he advance the pawn.

Leave a Reply

